« Springs Commission to interview candidates on April 15 | Main | Replacements for suspended commissioners to be named Friday »

48 applicants to vie for two Springs commission seats

There is plenty of interest among Coral Springs residents to fill the two City Commission seats left temporarily vacant by the suspension of incumbents Vince Boccard and Tom Powers. Boccard and Powers were suspended for allegedly violating the Sunshine Law.

According to the city clerk’s office, the city has received applications from 48 residents, including three former city officials. The commission will meet 9 a.m. Thursday to decide on who they want to pick. If a decision is not taken that day, a second meeting will take place at 3:30 p.m. Friday.

The individual appointed to Seat 2, which was occupied by Boccard, will serve until he is either returned to office by the Governor or until Nov. this year, whichever comes first. The person appointed to Seat 5 will serve until Powers is either returned to office by the Governor or until Nov. 2012, whichever comes first.

Among those who have applied are former city commissioners Ted Mena, Maureen Berk, and William D Stradling. Larry Vignola and Mark Gendal, who are running for commission seats in Nov. this year, and Max Lashin, who is running for Mayor, are also on the list. James Gleason, who is also running for mayor, and Bruce Weinberg, a candidate for a commission seat, have not applied.

The others on the list are Thomas Peterson, Laurence Kravitz, Richard Goldman, Abraham Sternberg, Anne Saathoff, David Esposito, Ray Clark, Eleanor Schnell, Katherine Pigg, Robert Gillan, Robert Sutton, Daniel Cole, Sherry Reece, Robert Chovnick, Michael Merlob, Kenneth Joyce, Jason Weiss, Simeon Brier, Wilnes Brunat, Kyle Neal, Oral Walters, Diane Yousefi, Allan Koch, David Hulett, Linda Daniel, Michael Pennetti, Helene Molina, Russell Robbins, Marcy DiMare, Michael Singer, Irwin Brooks, Michael Davis, Eugene Morgia Jr, Charles Fink, Michael Natale, Richard Junnier, Ryan Gebauer, Laura bagg, John Faiella, Christine Mattingly, Vincent Rebecca, and Keith Roberts.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)


This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on April 12, 2010 4:45 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Springs Commission to interview candidates on April 15.

The next post in this blog is Replacements for suspended commissioners to be named Friday.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

Powered by
Movable Type 3.36
Copyright © 2008 Tribune Interactive
By visiting this site, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.